Pike County DUI Attorney
Pennsylvania is tough on drivers who are found to be driving under the influence of alcohol. A law passed in August of 2017 offered first-time offenders the choice of either losing their license or installing an ignition interlock device on their vehicle if they were caught with a blood-alcohol level of .08 or higher.
If you’ve been caught driving under the influence, the Pike County DUI attorneys at Farley & Bernathy LLC can help you defend yourself against the charges. Don’t hesitate to reach out to us today for help.
Understanding Pennsylvania DUI Laws
In Pennsylvania, there are multiple tiers of DUI offenses. These depend on the extent of your blood-alcohol level at the time of your arrest. Those caught driving with a .08 to .10 are in the lowest tier. Those caught driving with a BAC of .10 to .16 are in the second tier. The third tier is reserved for those with BAC higher than .16.
In addition, Pennsylvania considers repeat offenses when charging people with DUI. There is a ten-year “lookback” period. In other words, if you have multiple DUI offenses in a 10-year period you can expect to face stiffer penalties.
Understanding Pennsylvania’s New DUI Law
In August of 2017, Pennsylvania passed a new law regarding first-time offenders. This law offered those who were caught with a BAC of .10 or higher the option of either forfeiting their license for one year or installing IID (ignition interlock device) on their vehicle. This device is like a breathalyzer that only allows the car to start if you are below the legal limit. The device must remain on the driver’s vehicle for the period of a year and they must pay for both installation and maintenance on the vehicle.
Penalties for DUI under Pennsylvania Law
Pennsylvania takes DUI very seriously. Those who drive while intoxicated put themselves and others at risk and are a danger to others on the road. For that reason, the penalties for DUI are stiff. They include:
First offense. $300 fine and installation of IID or the option of having your license suspended for one year.
Second offense. A second offense carries a minimum five-day jail sentence with a maximum of six months and a maximum fine of $2500. Your license can be suspended for up to a year and you will be required to get an IID installed on your car at your own expense.
Third offense. A third offense for DUI can carry a 10 day to 2 year jail sentence and a fine of up to $5000. Your license will be suspended for at least a year.
What about Pleading Down?
Pennsylvania law prohibits the pleading of DUI down to a lesser penalty. Some states allow what is called a “wet reckless” which is essentially reckless driving. There’s no way to plead down a DUI in Pennsylvania.
Contact a Pike County DUI Attorney
If you’ve been charged with DUI, you need an attorney who will advocate on your behalf. This can include promising to enter a rehab program to manage your drinking or other drug use. The fines for DUI, particularly second and third offenses can be stiff. Contact the attorneys at Farley & Bernathy LLC and we will help you get a sentence that you can live with.